Lipreading Classes and Information

Where can I learn to lipread?

What is lipreading?

Lipreading is a vital communication skill if you are deaf or have hearing loss. It could help you avoid social isolation and live your life to the full. Most hearing loss experts recommend that people of all ages, with any degree of hearing loss, learn to lipread.

Although you cannot learn to lipread everything, classes will give you the tools and awareness to develop your skills. They will improve your confidence and are a great way to do something positive and practical about your hearing loss.

To find a local class, visit atlalipreading.org.uk/.../ or contact our helpline.

If there isn’t a class in your area, ask your local adult education centre or college to provide one. If there is enough demand they may consider it?

Please see our leaflet about learning to lipread- 'Learning to Lipread'

• Dear all,

I’m a geography student from Durham University and I’m currently conducting research for my dissertation into how people with disabilities cope with living in urban spaces.

I was wondering whether you could share the link to my online anonymous questionnaire (on accessibility and public space in London):

goo.gl/.../i3czVz35icBWIU3h2

It would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks,

Alexandra Bamford
  • Looking for a one-to-one lipreading tutor in London[/size][size=7]

Hi
    I would like to learn to lipread as my hearing in my right ear is now at moderate loss and is likely to get worse. It is unknown what will happen in my left ear.

I want to try to prepare myself as best I can for the future. I have enquired via so regarding courses and unfortunately the best course (beginners taking place in the evening so I can fit it round my current job and meet others in a similar position to me) for me started 4 weeks ago and there are no spaces for me to join late. The next course is not until next September, I am reluctant to lose a years worth of learning time.